FREE Horbury Academy iPhone & Android App

Horbury Academy

Horbury Academy

Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy Life at Horbury Academy

Parent View

Kirkland Rowell Survey

Many thanks to all our parents and carers who returned surveys to us last term and particularly those who took the time to write lengthy responses. We have received a detailed breakdown of what you have said to us and are using this feedback, together with the results of the staff and student surveys to help us on our journey to beyond outstanding. In the words of Kirkland Rowell, who produced the report for us, "The school has reason to be happy with most of its activities; particularly the number of criteria showing an improvement in scores since the last survey".

What you told us

 

What we what we have done

 

All but one of our academic subjects had a good or better satisfaction rating. Our top subjects are Business Studies, History, Music and Maths but parents are telling us that they are not happy with our PSHE provision.

All students now receive two 25 minutes lessons each week which will have a strong PSHE and Citizenship focus.

 

All but one of the parent priorities had a good or better rating. School facilities, school security, availability of resources, teaching quality and school communication were our top 5. Only careers advice was rated less than good.

 

Year 11 students will be taking part in a "Preparation for Working Life" as part of our work experience program

We have appointed an associate assistant headteacher in charge if careers information, advice and guidance who will be strengthening provision across the academic year.

A large number of students attend a careers event at Cedar Court in September each year.

We have received a detailed breakdown of the % of parents who rate each subject as "good or very good" and also as "poor or very poor".

 

 

 

 

 

These results have been shared with all subject leaders and are being used to help write development plans for the next year.

 

We have introduced a new cycle of internal monitoring, self-evaluation and review across all areas of the academy.

 

The overwhelming majority of parents told us that their children are happy and confident since starting at Horbury Academy and stated that they felt behaviour and safety are both good. A small minority of both parents and students gave constructive criticism about our behaviour policy and our rewards systems. Some parents felt that the amount and level of challenge in homework were too low.

 

We have conducted a review of our behaviour policy and launched our new behaviour policy in September 2013. This will be reviewed regularly by staff and students. This is available here.

 

We have also written a new Home-Academy Agreement which is in all students’ planners.

 

We have restructured our senior leadership responsibilities from September 2013 and appointed an associate assistant head teacher in charge of reviewing and improving our rewards systems linked in with Student Voice.

 

We have also reviewed our home learning policy and are monitoring more closely the amount and quality being set. The policy is available here.

 

 

Ofsted Parent View

We welcome all feedback from parents and use the Ofsted Parent View questions and give out copies of this at all events where parents come into the Academy. You can fill in a copy of this survey here and email it back to us at headteacher@horburyacademy.com or you may fill in the survey on Ofsted's webpage here.

 Any concerns, comments or questions?

There are many ways in which you can contact us. In the first instance please contact your child's form tutor or subject teacher, however should you need to contact subject leaders or a head of year then their contact details are listed here.

Member of Staff

Role

Email address

Miss D Booth

Head of Year 7

dbooth@horburyacademy.com

Miss E Harrington

Head of Year 8

eharrington@horburyacademy.com

Mrs R France

Head of Year 9

rfrance@horburyacademy.com

Miss M White

Head of Year 10

mwhite@horburyacademy.com

Mr R Hanby

Head of Year 11

rhanby@horburyacademy.com

Miss S Wilmot

Head of English

swilmot@horburyacademy.com

Mr R Flaherty

Head of Maths

rflaherty@horburyacademy.com

Mrs K Field

Director of Science

kfield@horburyacademy.com

Mrs K Roberts

Head of MFL

kroberts@horburyacademy.com

Mrs E Penny

Head of DT

epenny@horburyacademy.com

Mr J Gillard

Head of History

jgillard@horburyacademy.com

Mrs J Davidson

Head of RE

jdavidson@horburyacademy.com

Mr A Chambers

Head of Geography

achambers@horburyacademy.com

Miss L Vaughan

Head of ICT

lvaughan@horburyacademy.com

Mr P Walton

Head of PE

pwalton@horburyacademy.com

Mr R Stewart

Head of Art

rstewart@horburyacademy.com

Mr D Ray

Teacher in charge of Music

dray@horburyacademy.com

Miss L Fisher

Teacher in charge of Drama

lfisher@horburyacademy.com

Mr D Harrison

Teacher in charge of Media

dharrison@horburyacademy.com

Mr P Waud

Teacher in charge of Computing

pwaud@horburyacademy.com

Mrs V Martin

Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator

vmartin@horburyacademy.com

Mrs D Robinson

Child Protection Officer

drobinson@horburyacademy.com

Mrs. B. Imeson

Education Welfare Officer

bimeson@horburyacademy.com

Head's Drop In Sessions

Our Head's Drop In sessions are available for the opportunity to talk directly to Ms Oakley. Dates for this academic year are in the Academy Calendar here. Please note that no appointments are necessary for the Head’s Drop In sessions, however, if you would prefer to meet at a different time please contact Mrs J. Heppenstall, the Head's PA who will arrange a mutually convenient appointment.